Book Blog,  Bookish Tips & Lists

8 Series To Binge Watch After You Read The Raven Cycle

It’s been almost two weeks since I finished The Raven King, the last book in Maggie Stiefvater’s beautiful and magical The Raven Cycle. If you haven’t read The Raven Boys and its successors, I urge you to go out and pick it up right now. The series follows a group of teenagers who live in the fictional small town of Henrietta, Virginia. In search of a Welsh King, the group discovers that Henrietta is more magical than they ever dreamed, but the powerful magic also attracts dangerous elements and creatures to the town too that they must face.

If you’re like me and still hung up on The Raven King, here are eight amazing televisions series you can binge-watch right now to quell the longing. Similarly to The Raven Cycle, all of these series have fantastic characters, beautiful world building, and more magic than they can contain. (Black Mirror focuses more on technology and science, but science is magic. Some of the devices the writers came up with could be right out of the Greywaren’s dreams!) Yes, I have actually watched all of these shows and I love every single one of them immensely.

Keep reading to discover your next favorite show.

01. Teen Wolf/ 2011 / 5 Seasons / Ongoing
Synopsis: A somewhat awkward teen is attacked by a werewolf and inherits the curse himself, as well as the enemies that come with it.

02. The Secret Circle / 2011 / 2 Seasons / Cancelled
Synopsis: 16 year old Cassie Blake moves to chance harbor, Washington to live with her grandmother after her mother mysteriously dies. She discovers she’s a witch along with 5 other teens.

03. The Magicians / 2015 / 1 Season / Ongoing
Synopsis: After being recruited to a secretive academy, a group of students discover that the magic they read about as children is very real-and more dangerous than they ever imagined.
This show contains sex, nudity, and profanity.

04. Sense8 / 2015 / 1 Season / Ongoing
Synopsis: A group of people around the world are suddenly linked mentally, and must find a way to survive being hunted by those who see them as a threat to the world’s order.
This show contains sex, nudity, and profanity.

05. Misfits / 2009 / 5 Seasons / Cancelled
Synopsis: A group of young offenders doing community service get struck by lightning during a storm, and begin to develop superpowers.
This show contains sex, nudity, and profanity.

06. Supernatural / 2005 / 11 Seasons / Ongoing
Synopsis: Two brothers follow their father’s footsteps as “hunters” fighting evil supernatural beings of many kinds including monsters, demons, and gods that roam the earth.

07. Black Mirror / 2011 / 3 Seasons / Cancelled
Synopsis: A television anthology series that shows the dark side of life and technology.
This show contains sex, nudity, and profanity.

08. Merlin / 2008 / 5 Seasons / Cancelled
Synopsis: The adventures of the legendary sorcerer as a young man.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: